Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim

Prof. Dr. Omar M. Yaghi

Professor Omar M. Yaghi received the August-Wilhelm-von-Hofmann-Denkmünze 2020 for his research in the field of MOFs and COFs.

Omar M. Yaghi is the James and Neeltje Tretter Chair Professor of Chemistry at University of California, Berkeley. He has pioneered several extensive classes of new materials and a new branch of chemistry, reticular chemistry, which he defined as ‘linking of molecular building blocks by strong bonds into crystalline extended structures’. His materials have applications in hydrogen storage, carbon capture, and harvesting water from desert air, to mention a few.

Professor Yaghi published over 300 scientific articles and has received over 160,000 citations for which he is listed among the very top most cited chemists. He is a member of the US National Academy of Sciences, and has been honored with many awards for his scientific accomplishments, including King Faisal International Prize in Science (2015), Mustafa Prize in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (2015), TÜBA Academy Prize in Basic and Engineering Sciences (2016), the Medal of Excellence of the First Order bestowed by the King of Jordan His Majesty King Abdullah II (2017), Albert Einstein World Award of Science (2017), BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (2017), Kuwait Prize in Basic Sciences (2017), Wolf Prize in Chemistry (2018), Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (2018), ENI Award for Excellence in Energy (2018), the Mohammed bin Rashid Medal of Science of United Arab Emirates (2019), Gregori Aminoff Prize by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded by the King of Sweden His Majesty Carl XVI Gustaf (2019), August-Wilhelm-von-Hofmann-Denkmünze of the German Chemical Society (2020), and Royal Society of Chemistry Sustainable Water Award, United Kingdom (2020).